17
Dec
08

rockband.

it’s not as though I don’t understand the appeal of Rockband. I do. it just doesn’t appeal to me, in any way, shape or form. and it’s taken me until now to nail down why.

it’s not just the extreme commercialization of art (how many bands are out there right now writing songs and saying “dude, you gotta simplify that bass-line or we’re never gonna make it on Rockband!”?) or anything about performity and video games, or even that it strips songs of all musicality when people are “playing” them.

no. there are two major things that annoy me about Rockband (and Guitar Hero). the first I’ve known for a while, and it’s true about pretty much all video games: it’s only entertaining for those who are playing. this is so annoying with Rockband/Guitar Hero because these are so often played at social gatherings, because they do require (for maximum experience) so many people.

the second thing, is that unless you’re BLASTING the tv, even if they’re “playing” perfectly, all you hear is the “tap tap tap” and the “tick tick tick” of the drums and guitar, not the song. which gets really old, really fast.

and, I mean, I dunno. if I’m gonna pretend to be playing the drums to a song I like, what’s wrong with doing it in the air (as it’s always been done) so that it doesn’t obstruct the sound of actual drums? why add my own enhancement of “bang bang bang”?

I dunno. I just can’t get into it.

and I can’t help but resent a game that makes me not want to listen to several songs I used to really like ever again.

I don’t care if other people have a blast with it, it’s just not for me.

0 Responses to “rockband.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

archives.

Categories


