22
Nov
16

Home but not better.

I AM HOME FROM THE HOSPITAL!

img_0892

Back home with my Top Nurse and not wearing hospital clothes!

It’s a little misleading. In a lot of ways, I’m in worse shape now than I was when I got to the hospital — my immune system is shot and I’m even more anemic. There’s an open wound in my neck. I’m still retaining a lot of water and feel and look like a sausage.

I’m currently adjusting to the reality that I am living with stage four kidney disease, and will be for the foreseeable future until things either get better or worse.

I have to limit my potassium.

I have to limit my protein.

I have to limit my sodium.

I have to monitor my anemia and continue taking iron supplements and hormone injections.

I have to monitor my high blood pressure and continue taking medication.

I have to be slowly weened off of steroids for the next six months.

I have to take a bunch of medications to counter the negative effects of steroids.

I’m probably going to have to get more chemo, which will make me more anemic again and decimate my immune system, again. Plus risk of infertility, plus risk of hair loss.

I have to take extra care to not contract any infections that could set off my immune system and throw my kidneys into crisis.

I have to keep in tip top health so that I am a good donor recipient.

I have been encouraged to find a living donor match so that I have a plan in place should I find myself desperately needing a new kidney so I can hopefully avoid dialysis.

There’s a still a chance I will be able repair my kidneys and regain more kidney function. This will take a very long time.

I am making plans.

Yesterday was a really weird day. I started the morning with my favorite nurse telling me she had completed my discharge paperwork should the doctors decide to let me out. I resisted hope. My numbers were stable — hemoglobin up to 6! Kidney numbers still the same. My last scheduled plasma treatment started relatively on time and went fine, except that the steroids made my entire body hum for two hours which was super unpleasant. Josh and my internist delivered the news that we wouldn’t be doing anymore plasma treatments and I was allowed to go home if I wanted to. They didn’t actually say, “Well, there’s nothing else we can do for you,” but that’s what I heard. Well, let’s get me the fuck out of here then.

We spoke at length in fairly vague terms about what my next six months – forever look like. I got randomized a new attending that had to meet me for the first time then coordinate all my discharge stuff–this took ALL. FUCKING. DAY. A representative from the living donor transplant program paid me a visit and gave me a pamphlet. A dietician brought me three lists of foods I can’t eat. Then I spent several hours waiting for someone qualified to remove the central line from my neck so I could go home. This was agony — not the removal, just the wait. Phil, my nurse (poor Phil, who only gets me on my worst days–Iron Treatment #1 and then yesterday), cold called the entire hospital all afternoon I think until they finally sent someone up around 6:30. It took less than 5 minutes to pull this thing out of neck and then Phil had to hold a compress on it for a full half hour so I wouldn’t bleed out (success!). Phil also ran down to Walgreens and picked up all my meds for me. Then I had to get a flu vaccine and a pneumonia vaccine (these both still strike me as something very risky to do). THEN. THEN I had to wait for the goddamn pharmacy to send up my hormone injection. The universe decided it was a great time for my period to start. We didn’t leave the hospital until 8:30.

Mom and Jess spent the better part of their day hanging out in my hospital room waiting with me while I basically sat catatonic on my bed trying to process everything that is happening to me. I was not fun to be around. I’m still not very fun to be around yet.

But! I’m working on it. I have a lot to figure out and I love figuring things out. I was up all night trying to figure three things out:

  1. How do I get my kidneys to work again?
    1. I’m going to build some tools to hack my diet and monitor all the things. Everything available in the app store is garbage I think, so I’m going to build my own system in Google Sheets.
    2. I’m going to consult some more “alternative” medicine. I fully submitted myself to western medical establishment for two months and have found it wanting.
    3. I’m otherwise perfectly healthy, so I’m going to keep doing what I’ve been doing for the most part, with a few lifestyle adjustments.
  2. How do I get back to work?
    1. This has less to do with work and more to do with me getting back to something that I love.
    2. Actual work is the easy part. I’m very good at my job and my work is not strenuous. Work needs my brain and my brain is still great.
    3. My immune system is a problem. My office and the means of getting there are both kidney death traps. I’m cultivating a “Bubble D” persona. I will resist my polite impulses to hold doors open for people — the more door knobs I can avoid, the better.
    4. I have to stay hydrated.
    5. I have to not schedule three stressful hour long meetings back to back. I will carve out mandatory rest time in quiet corners of the office for myself throughout the day.
    6. I will figure out my long-term treatment schedule and all of the logistics around that as soon as I can.
  3. How do we stop the nazis?
    1. I can’t believe this is a very real concern.
    2. I don’t even know where to start with this right now, but there’s no time to lose.

Tomorrow I have a follow-up appointment with my oncologist and I have to schedule a follow-up with Josh for next week. Tomorrow I get to take a shower and change the bandage on my central line wound. Tania and the boys are coming for Thanksgiving tomorrow. I’m working to be out of my processing funk by then. I’ve spent most of today catching up on work and it’s been wonderful.

0 Responses to “Home but not better.”



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

archives.

Categories


