16
Jun
17

7 Days

MY KIDNEY TRANSPLANT IS ONE WEEK FROM TODAY AHHHHHHHHHHH!

So crazy. Am I anxious? Yes. But mostly anxious-excited. I’m not really allowing myself to think about the stuff that’ll make me anxious-worried. It’s been a little challenging — usually, the way I cope with stressful situations and stay so level-headed is by processing potential outcomes in advance so that I’m prepared. Unfortunately, this situation is a little more high-stakes than usual and I’m trying to avoid freaking myself out. Also, I feel very strongly that I should not put any negativity around this into the universe right now, which is why I will not list my concerns out loud. Superstitious? Maybe, but I’ve seen it work the other way where I put a positive idea into the universe and it happens, so let’s not chance it.

ANYWAY I’m super looking forward to my terrifying major surgery next Friday, and so is my sister!

I’m also trying not to fall into a trap where I think about how after the surgery everything will be “back to normal”. This is not the case — I’ll still have chronic kidney disease, and I’ll still have the very mysterious autoimmune issue that caused the kidney disease. I’ll be on immunosuppression meds probably forever. I might have to stay on hypertension meds because of the immunosuppression meds. But! I probably won’t be puffs anymore, my back won’t constantly hurt, and I’ll be able to eat whatever I want without tasting unfiltered waste in my mouth anymore! I shouldn’t be extremely anemic much longer, which means I won’t get dizzy sitting down and be constantly on the verge of fainting. I’ll have enough energy to work five days a week and go out on the weekends, eventually. It’s exciting stuff. I get to LIVE!

I don’t really have a sense of how long my recovery is going to take. All the available information is for people over 65 and I am absolutely a spring chicken. By the numbers I should have been on dialysis weeks ago, so nothing typical here. I’m crossing my fingers for about two weeks, because that would work out best with my current work situation, but even I think that’s maybe delusional optimism. But I’m basically completely functional without kidneys, so… we’ll see.

I’ll let you guys know how it goes. 

2 Responses to “7 Days”


  1. 1 Dawn Coulombe
    June 19, 2017 at 8.41am

    Hello Dani & Tania , I want you to know you are absolutely in our hearts ♥️ & prayers as this important event is in a few days. Dani you have been a miracle so far, & Tania has always respected her health & is 💪🏻 strong! I know that you will both recover well. Your word read has kept us informed & up to date so beautifully, I wish we were better communicators. Our love ❤️ & prayers are with you both 🙏✨👥 Also looking forward to your recovery👍💫❌⭕️😍 Aunt Dawn & Uncle Marty @
    & gang

  2. June 21, 2017 at 10.24am

    I hope all goes well with your transplant! I got a new kidney on April 11 and my life is so much better. It sounds like some similarities in our stories. My sister was my donor. We were both under 45. And my kidney got down to 7-per-cent function without me requiring dialysis. I’ve written about my transplant over on my blog and I’d be happy to answer any questions if you want to reach out to me privately. Good luck!!


Leave a Reply

archives.

Categories


